WHEN SUBMISSIONS ARE ANSWERED

We are going back in this post to that wonderful and bizarre decade of the 1990’s. Besides being a comic book collector and a comic book convention junkie I also fancied myself and aspiring comic book writer. I sent submissions to DC Comics, Marvel Comics and to Extreme Studios who were then part of Image Comics between 1993 and 1994. DC never answered but Marvel and Image did sent me letters by mail. Those letters were recently found in my old box and now I’m sharing them with you.

First let us check out the Marvel letter. Notice the lack of a header, a signature and of course notice the tone of the letter. Bottom line here, your guess is as good as my guess.

This is the Marvel letter.

And now here’s Extreme Studios letter. Notice the cool header, the signature and of course the tone of the letter. Bottom line here, regardless of the quality of their comics loved by some, hated by others this guys have manners, good manners.

This is Extreme Studios letter.
3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. What an insightful post. I have long thought that the dysfunction we have seen building in the 2 main comic book companies had its roots in that kind of bottom line root issues. Based on this alone I would believe Extreme is capable of writing better stories precisely because they are interacting with the public in a way that demonstrates a modicum of respect to the person on the other side of the page.

  2. Weird seeing that letter here, Emilio. Reviewing submissions is a tough (and sometimes thankless) job, but we definitely appreciated everyone’s effort in submitting work. We’d all been there, and in those early days at Extreme, there weren’t many years separating the folks working there from aspiring artists and writers.

    Back in the late ’90s, probably around 1998, Michael Turner and I were at a convention together in Seattle, and he told me he’d received one of these letters in response to some early samples. My first thought was, “Crap! I turned down Michael Turner!” but he told me the samples were terrible, and that getting turned down actually steeled his resolve to get better. From what he told me, he kept my rejection letter above his drawing board, because he was thankful that someone told him “you’re no good, but keep trying.”

    And finally: Yes, we did have some nice stationary (and our envelopes were quite nice, too!), but that comic book font I used makes me cringe!

Leave a Reply

