THE DRAGON*CON CHRONICLES 2012, EPISODE 3 – I LOVE A PARADE, DAY #2

Saturday is Parade Day at Dragon*Con, it is one of the most important if not the most important part of the convention. It is the moment when the Dragon*Con goes to the streets, Peachtree and Baker Streets to be precise. At 10:00 AM starting at Woodruff Park at the corner of Auburn Ave and Peachtree Street, continuing North on Peachtree Street to Baker Street, and taking a final turn onto Courtland Street to conclude at the Atlanta Marriott Marquis’s back entrance every willing individual with a cosplay and/or a theme related vehicle would walk the distance and turn that Saturday morning into an awesome morning.

From DRAGON CON 2012, DAY 2, Sept 1, 2012
From DRAGON CON 2012, DAY 2, Sept 1, 2012
From DRAGON CON 2012, DAY 2, Sept 1, 2012
From DRAGON CON 2012, DAY 2, Sept 1, 2012
From DRAGON CON 2012, DAY 2, Sept 1, 2012

I went early to the beginning of the parade at Woodruff Park and took a lot of photos. Once I was done I braved my way thru a packed sidewalk to get back to the convention hotels. There was no point staying on the street to try and see the parade because the streets were packed and I could not see squat. Back inside the Hyatt I headed straight to Artist Alley and got Neal Adams’s autograph, met Bob Burden, creator of The Flaming Carrot, for the second time met Mark Bagley (the first one was in 1995) and a whole bunch of independent creators. From some of those artists I bought their comics and I intend to put my reviews of those titles in future posts.

From DRAGON CON 2012, DAY 2, Sept 1, 2012
From DRAGON CON 2012, DAY 2, Sept 1, 2012

Later I went to a panel given by Richard Hatch (Apollo from the original Battlestar Galactica). It was very impressive and I got a whole new kind of respect for the man. After that I got something to eat and then more awesome cosplays and more photos.

From DRAGON CON 2012, DAY 2, Sept 1, 2012

This time I paced myself right and stayed late so I could go to that night’s Comic Book Themed Cosplay Contest hosted by Peter David and George Perez. After that I went back to my hotel, not bad for day 2 although I was missing all the awesome parties of the night. Two days down two more to go.

From DRAGON CON 2012, DAY 2, Sept 1, 2012
From DRAGON CON 2012, DAY 2, Sept 1, 2012
From DRAGON CON 2012, DAY 2, Sept 1, 2012
From DRAGON CON 2012, DAY 2, Sept 1, 2012

I wish to dedicate this 5 part DRAGON*CON CHRONICLES to the amazing Jessica Paulding. The best Starbuck cosplayer I have had the good luck to meet. Live Long and Prosper Jessica.

Leave a Reply

