SOME QUICK NOTES ABOUT G.I JOE: RETALIATION

GI_Joe-_Retaliation_27

I just saw the movie G.I. Joe: Retaliation at my local theater. Here’s what I have to say.

  • It’s a way, way, way much better movie than that bad joke called G.I. Joe: The Rise Of Cobra. Somehow they managed to keep a reasonable amount of continuity from the first movie but were wise enough to get rid of all the crap that movie had.
  • This movie draws generously from the Larry Hama’s work on the G.I. Joe comic book that he wrote for Marvel Comics in the 80’s. If you are one of those person who like me read those comics during your youth you will know what I mean.
  • The writers focused this movie’s storyline on a small group of characters, a very smart move that was crucial in making this movie work.
  • Snake Eyes and Storm Shadow have more screen time in this movie.
  • The Cobra Commander in this movie is the Cobra Commander that should have been in the first one.
  • The actions sequences in this movie are better. Wall to wall action.
  • I just love the soundtrack for this film.

Bottom line, if you are a long time G.I. Joe fan you won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

