SUPERMAN / WONDER WOMAN #1: A LOVE STORY

SUPERMAN / WONDER WOMAN #1: A LOVE STORY

SPOILER ALERT. THIS ARTICLE DISCUSSES THE PLOT OF THE COMIC SUPERMAN / WONDER WOMAN # 1. IF YOU READ THIS FIRST YOU WILL BE RUINING YOUR READING OF THAT COMIC.

Everyone loves a good love story. There is no better story than a love story, especially when the protagonists of this story are Superman and Wonder Woman. Their love story has been a rough and even irritating one in some instances. To give you a better idea of what I’m talking about I recommend you read the following article by clicking here.

This brings us to discuss issue # 1 of the newest offering from DC Comics; I’m talking of course of their new title, SUPERMAN / WONDER WOMAN. This is where the situation gets a little irritating for me. I am a person with conflicting opinions within my own brain when evaluating this romance. As the fan that I am of both characters from the first moment I started reading comics, I have always longed for the time when Superman and Wonder Woman would become boyfriend and girlfriend. On the other hand, after spending 15 years of my life with my neurons conditioned to the Clark Kent / Lois Lane marriage, I am having my share of trouble accepting the new status quo brought by the New 52 Universe, where Clark and Lois never even dated. After 12 months publication of this new universe, suddenly we are introduced to the new relationship between the Kryptonian Kal -El and the Amazon Princess with the gentleness with which a car passes over us. After another 12 months the relationship has continued and flourished to the point that DC Comics gave them their own title.

How did I find the first issue? Glad you asked me. To sum it up in a word I would call it, “uneven”. In many words, for this to be a comic called SUPERMAN / WONDER WOMAN, Wonder Woman is doing most of the hard work in terms of moving forward the romantic relationship and in terms of distributing punches and slaps to the evildoers. The comic meets the expectations of the general public. The public wants a romance, the comic gives them a romance, a romance in which Diana is fighting for their relationship to move to the next level and in which Clark when he is not shuffling, he is digging with his twenty super-nails on the floor so that their relationship does not progress and stays the same. This comic also meets the expectations of action and adventure sometimes at sickly levels. The villain for this comic is Doomsday, you heard right, DOOMSDAY. It is prudent to mention that our villain of the month makes his surprise appearance showing levels of savagery that are, well … sick. There are two points in terms of the plot that bother me. The first is the marginal and mediocre use that is given the secondary character of Cat Grant to present it in a way that apparently adds nothing to the story. The second is the constant jumping between past and present used in the narrative of this story.

The Art of Tony S. Daniel is for the most part epic though I found a couple of pages where the drawing seemed rushed and poor in detail.

In short SUPERMAN / WONDER WOMAN is a good read, it could be better but it let me interested enough to look for more next month.

wwsupcover

I dedicate this review to Debbie Serrano. My Wonder Woman on this Earth.

Leave a Reply

