THE DRAGON*CON CHRONICLES – SEPTEMBER 1, 2013 – DAY 3 – ADVENTURES WITH THE COLONIAL FLEET

I woke up early in the morning with my properly renewed energy, but with a bad mood on account that I missed the KISSNATION concert and the Rocky Horror Picture Show tribute. But in the final analysis I concluded that I had no time to lose agonizing pointlessly about what I couldn’t do anything about. Although I still had both days 3 and 4 to go, day #3 of Dragon*Con is for many people the last day since they need to use Monday to travel back to their homes in order to report to their jobs and/or studies early in the morning Tuesday.

After having breakfast I tried to start the day attending a panel in the area of the Hyatt Hotel about Literary Sources for Comics but it was canceled so I went to the Hilton Atlanta to the next thing on my list, the Battlestar Galactica photo-shoot with the members of THE COLONIAL FLEET.

From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3

It was at this event where I spent the rest of the morning, I was just having too much fun to go elsewhere. I dedicated myself to take my own pictures and videos in addition to the photos taken by professional photographers and the videos taken by a group that was filming a documentary related to Battlestar Galactica.

By mid-day I went to lunch and afterwards to explore some areas of the Convention that I haven’t visited yet like the Hospitality Room and the Independent Music Bands Booths as well as taking photos of cosplayers. All this to kill some hours while it was time for the beginning of the Bionic Ever After: Lindsay Wagner and Lee Majors panel that was to be held at the Atrium Ballroom of the Marriott Hotel. However fate intervened in the shape of a deadlock in the pedestrian corridor which interconnects the Hyatt (where I was) with the Marriott and the heavy rain that did not allow me out on the street to get to the hotel. It was thus that my dream to meet Lee Majors was left unfulfilled.

From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3

When the rain finally ceased, the situation that was blocking the pedestrian walkway was already over so I went to the Marvel Comics themed photo-shoot session. This session I rivaled the DC Comics photo-shoot from the previous day in terms of the variety of cosplays. I took a generous amount of photos of course.

From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3

After that photo-shoot, I went to take a bath and change clothes in order to be ready for the private party offered that night by The Colonial Fleet to which I was invited. When I was ready it was still early so I went to the Artist Alley in order take advantage of the time to spare. There I met in person one of my favorite comic book artist, the renowned penciller and writer Amanda Conner. The first thing that I did was to congratulate her on her work in the miniseries Before Watchmen: Silk Spectre, which is one of my favorites from this year. Afterwards when I was telling her how much I liked the Power Girl story that she did in DC Comics’s JSA CLASSIFIED, she was suddenly frozen in amazement looking at someone who was behind me. I turned my back to see and what I saw was the most excellent, most beautiful, most impressive Power Girl cosplay that I’ve seen in my life. That cosplay was on the body of a tall, powerful, statuesque, curvaceous and sexy woman with the most beautiful pair of eyes I’ve seen in a long time. I was seeing Freya Fólkvangr for the first time and she was a total vision of beauty. Freya was also there to meet Amanda Conner so I made the wisest thing that occurred to me, shut my mouth, stand aside and let Amanda speak with Freya. Amanda was very impressed with Freya’s cosplay to the point that she told her that it was the best interpretation of Power Girl that she had seen to date. After that it was my turn to speak with Freya and we spent about half an hour talking about various topics. We had a great time.

From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3

After that I continued to take photos through the halls of the Artist Alley where I got to portraying various personalities from the world of comics as the legend of the Golden Age Allen Bellman, prolific Argentine cartoonist José Delbo and Dean Motter creator of Mister X.

From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3

Finally came the time for THE COLONIAL FLEET private party. We had a mega-cool time and even had the pleasant surprise that Edward James Olmos came along with several members of the cast of the series to attend the party. Richard Hatch who starred as Apollo in the original series of the 70’s also attended in order of filming material for his documentary about Battlestar Galactica fans. We had an excellent time and it was an appropriate ending for a day that wasn’t officially the last day of the Convention but the last day for many.

From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
From Dragon Con 2013 Day 3

To access the photo album for this day click on the link below.

Dragon Con 2013 Day 3
Leave a Reply

