COSPLAYER IN FOCUS – AN INTERVIEW WITH YSA MARIE

Morrigan Aensland from the video game Darkstalkers.

Why has it taken me so long to realize the existence of Ysa Marie? There is no reason to justify this oversight on my part. She is super talented when it comes to preparing her cosplays, mega photogenic whenever she is in front of all camera lenses and incredibly beautiful as only she can. This young woman is a beauty that can give you the most charming and enchanting look with the most beautiful pair of eyes that I have seen in years.

Ysa Marie has made her presence felt in the local Puerto Rican cosplay scene since 2006 with her versions of characters from the anime genre as Asuka from Evangelion, video game cosplay like her Tifa Lockheart from Final Fantasy VII and the heroine of the comics, Black Canary (DC Comics) and that’s only some of her successes. Yes, there is definitely something wrong with my brain cells that have made me take so long to realize that we have such a cosplay angel walking among us.

Black Suit.

I invite you all to enjoy this interview with Ysa Marie.

When did you discover the hobby called cosplay?

I discovered it about 8 winters ago.

What motivates you to practice this hobby? In other words, why do you do it?

I do this hobby because I enjoy it and I always have a good time with it! The best people that you’ll encounter in life are the people who go to anime conventions …ha, ha!

Are you a fan of any particular entertainment area (comics, anime, video games)?

Hmmm I have no preference; all those three areas have a special place in my heart.

Do you remember which character that inspired you to make your first cosplay?

It was the anime series called Chobits. I tried to make a Chobbit cosplay … TRIED. Ha, ha, ha!

Do you make your own costumes? If so, do you make them alone or with help?

Sometimes alone and sometimes with my two best friends; Kritzia and Karinel. The two of them always say yes to all my craziness.

Which do you consider that has been your most challenging cosplay to make?

I think that would be my Morrigan Aensland cosplay from Dark Stalkers and I am still doing upgrades to it.

How did you feel the first time that you put on your first cosplay?

It was very fun!

Pikachu from the anime Pokemon.

Do you feel that you express a part of your personality on your cosplays?

Well partly yes, because I always choose characters with whom I feel identified.

When and where was your first public appearance in cosplay?

Hmm I’m not sure; I think it was in the first or second Kaisen wearing a Chobit cosplay.

Do you use the services of professional photographers?

Yes, for my cosplay page (Ysa Marie Arts) I use the Beyond The Eye Photography and Edgar Freytes Photography, but the most that you will always see on my page is Ernesto Javier Photography.

Tifa Lockhart from the video game Final Fantasy VII.

 

Do you have experience participating in photo-shoots either individual or group?

Yes, with Ernesto Javier Photography.

What has been the public’s response to your cosplays?

It has always been positive from what I’ve heard.

Have you been subjected to negative criticism, bullying or discrimination for being a cosplayer?

No! On the contrary, people who have never heard of this community get pumped when I show them photos of activities and the procedures that I use in making my cosplays.

Do you feel that your life has changed, that you’ve changed since you started doing cosplay?

Yes! Cosplay has made me grow into an optimistic, confident, independent young person and I have grown artistically.

Asuka from Evangelion.

 

Leave a Reply

