THE DRAGON CON CHRONICLES 2014 – SEPTEMBER 1, 2014 – DAY 4

For me day 4th, is the saddest day of Dragon Con on account that it’s the last day of the convention and a lot of people would be going back to their homes today. The high point for me this day would be the planned lunch with members of The Colonial Fleet at the Peachtree Mall during the evening. Therefore I wanted to maximize the use of my morning time wisely. At 9 AM I went to a panel with the male cast of the POWER RANGERS SAMURAI TV series. The panel wasn’t crowded and the panelists were very cool. I left early because I wanted to go one last time to the Artist Alley in order to get Tim Sale’s autograph on some Batman comics that I was carrying but once I arrived I found out that he fell ill and wouldn’t be able to be at his table that day. Luckily his assistant was kind enough to give me a free limited edition poster. Since it was a Dragon Con commemorative poster I proceeded to get as much autographs from as much artists that were that day in the Alley on my new poster. I even ran into Rick Stafford and Freya Fólkvangr so they got to sign my poster too.

From Dragon Con 2014 Day 4
From Dragon Con 2014 Day 4
From Dragon Con 2014 Day 4
From Dragon Con 2014 Day 4
From Dragon Con 2014 Day 4

 

Afterwards it was time for lunch so I headed to the Peachtree Mall’s Food Court for the Fleet’s get-together. I was lucky enough to see my friend Tracy Rouse whom I haven’t seen since last year’s DC. Also Jessica, Megan, Nate, Janet, Dean, Damaris and many more were also there. We ate Swarma (just like the Avengers at the end of their movie), we talked, we laughed and we had a good time among friends. As soon as people started leaving the place I left for the Marriot. I wanted to check out the Hall of Fame, the room where most of the invited guests met their fans and gave autographs. I was lucky and got to see mostly from afar some of my favorite actors, even had the chance to chat little bit with Gil Gerard and say hi to Michael Hogan, shake his hand and thank him for participating at the Fleet’s photoshoot the previous day.

From Dragon Con 2014 Day 4
From Dragon Con 2014 Day 4
From Dragon Con 2014 Day 4
From Dragon Con 2014 Day 4
From Dragon Con 2014 Day 4
From Dragon Con 2014 Day 4
From Dragon Con 2014 Day 4
From Dragon Con 2014 Day 4
From Dragon Con 2014 Day 4
From Dragon Con 2014 Day 4
From Dragon Con 2014 Day 4
From Dragon Con 2014 Day 4

 

Around 4 PM I headed to the Official Closing Ceremonies panel at the Hyatt. This was the first time I stayed for this kind of closing activity. The panel itself was quite brief and it soon evolved into a Q & A session where the attendees started expressing their complaints and misgivings about the Con. I wasn’t in the mood to spend an hour listening to people complain (I can do that at home) so I got up and walked back to my hotel since the shuttle service between the hotels had ceased early.

From Dragon Con 2014 Day 4
From Dragon Con 2014 Day 4
From Dragon Con 2014 Day 4

 

Since I didn’t have dessert at lunch I stopped to try the waffles at the local Waffle House. They were delicious. After that I went back to my hotel and started packing. Since my flight wasn’t leaving until around 12:00 PM I was able to sleep a little longer and have one last big breakfast buffet at the hotel. I got to the airport on time but the pilots and the crew didn’t so my flight’s departure was delayed. I arrived at San Juan, Puerto Rico around 3:30 PM.

From Dragon Con 2014 Day 4
From Dragon Con 2014 Day 4
From Dragon Con 2014 Day 4

 

Dragon Con 2014 was quite a learning experience in terms of me getting to know the city of Atlanta better on account that I had to walk more from my hotel thru many streets and parks of the city in order to get to the convention. This year I found significant improvements in the way that the convention was ran. The pre-admission process on day 0 was the fastest one and most efficient yet.  As in my last two visits the convention was rich with wonderful and innovative cosplays. The invited celebrities were varied and quite personable. The convention could have used more comic book artists in my opinion. I also learned that if I don’t plan ahead and do not take the necessary provisions to do things when I get to Atlanta those things will most probably never get done. I didn’t make plans to hang out with certain people once I got there and guess what, I didn’t hang out with any of them.  The more you plan ahead, the less probable that you forget and left stuff undone. Well I guess that’s it for this year’s chronicles. Until 2015, see you then.

Leave a Reply

